Skip to content

Marine Corps Marathon…Did you “RUN FOR THE FUND?”

November 29, 2010

Did you recently run in the Marine Corps Marathon?   Did you “RUN FOR THE FUND?”   If so, we thank you from the bottom of our hearts for honoring our Service Members by raising funds so that the  Semper Fi Fund can continue its mission of assisting the wounded during the recovery process.

There are many who would follow in your footsteps, and YOU can help!  The  Semper Fi Fund wants YOUR input!   We are looking for a “few good tips,” and invite you to share the wealth of your knowledge and fundraising skills with our next generation of runners and supporters, whether they plan to run in the Marine Corps Marathon, or in any number of local events.    You can to encourage others to participate  by showing them how you helped by raising “FUNDS FOR THE FUND.”

Share an answer to one or more of these questions, and you can help others get involved!

1. What motivated you to run for the fund?

2. How did you get started fundraising?

3.  How did you balance training with fundraising?

4. What was your favorite thing about the experience?

5.  Would you recommend “Running For The Fund” to others?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Justyn Cox permalink
    November 29, 2010 12:57 pm

    I ran because I am a Marine, I ran for the Fund because I am a Marine! Semper Fi means always faithful and it is this motto that motivated me to do my best for my fellow Marines who have given so much for my country and my Corps!
    I always try to make my run events count for more than a PR and Semper Fi Funds allowed me to do that. Most of my fundraising was done via computer/internet/social networks and only took minutes here and there while working on other projects online (can we say multitasking!?!) so it never interfered with training, although this year will see me out of the office and pounding the pavement with my fundraising efforts. My experience with Semper Fi Funds has changed my whole outlook on life, training, and running, and I will never stop supporting the fund~

  2. BK & Aud permalink
    November 29, 2010 8:06 pm

    1. We ran in honor of all who serve.
    2. Fundraising was harder this year — smaller donations but still received support!
    3. No suggestions here — just did it.
    4. Meeting Team Semper Fi and our injured service members at the Pasta Dinner and at the race day tent. That was a special.
    5. Yes, we would recommend running for the Fund! It was a great experience overall — and we will be back next year!

  3. Darlene Coone permalink
    November 30, 2010 9:20 pm

    1. Wanted to give back to those who serve. Have many friends whose sons are deployed in Iraq and Afghanistan . . . ran to honor their sacrifice.

    2. The fundraising page set up through Active made it very easy. Linked it to facebook and got family and friends to donate.

    3. Fundraising did not hamper my training in any way. Actually had more time to work online due to an injury in the middle of my training.

    4. Meeting all the Semper Fi folks at the race expo and sharing dinner with fellow Semper Fi runners at the pasta dinner. As an added bonus, the massage at the finish was heaven!

    5. I most definitely recommend “Running for the Fund” to others. It is a good cause, everyone at the Semper Fi Fund is wonderful, and our simple efforts help those in need.

  4. November 4, 2011 9:28 am

    1. I will be a commissioned 2nd Lt. this May and me and my fellow MIDN wanted to give back to the men and women who have been keeping us safe and to the men and women we will be leading and serving with in the near future.

    2. We started sending out emails to family and friends, who then sent them on to their friends and family. We also held fundraisers at our university’s functions like Alumni weekend and Parents weekend.

    3. That was relatively easy because we would run in the morning of everyday and fundraise whenever we had the opportunity (trying to keep a balance between school work, NROTC obligations, and fundraising was more of a difficulty but we we would all pitch in and help when others had work in school and NROTC to get done.)

    4.The pasta dinner. Seeing the Marines we have helped and hearing their stories. Seeing the tandem bikes in the marathon and those with prosthetic limbs. Its motivating and humbling at the same time.

    5. Hell yes I would recommend people to “Run for the Fund.” I am constantly trying to get people involved and would love to see everything NROTC int he country supporting either the Semper Fi Fund or a fund like it.

    My thanks to all of you at the Semper Fi Fund. Your work is indescribable. God Bless you all.

  5. Ed Bandas permalink
    November 5, 2011 7:55 am

    1. I ran for the Fund because I am a Marine (active duty from ’92-’96) and I ran for my Marines.
    2. Starting the fundraising effort was easy. Like others, I used social networks and email. I also have many old veteran friends in my local community who were willing to kick in a few bucks. My idea was to ask everyone for $1 per mile that I run – or $26.20 – as a donation. The responses I received were $50 to $100 donations from some truly dedicated friends and fellow Marines.I also told everyone in my networks that I was running the Austin Livestrong Marathon AND the Marine Corps Marathon for the Semepr Fi Fund. That increased my exposure to raising money for a longerperiod of time when I could report my first accomplishment back in February.
    3. Fundraising and training don’t interfere with each other. In other words, who could I shake down for money while I am running at 0500?!?!?
    4. My favorite thing about this experience is the satisfaction of knowing that some Marine will benefit from my “broad stature” running 2 marathons this year. My pain was only temporary and insignificant. I especially appreciated running in Austin Texas where many of the Fort Hood soldiers thanked me for running for this charity (I was wearing an old SFF shirt during the race) even as they passed me.
    5. Of course I recommend running for the Fund. There are a thousand worthy charities benefitting veterans and any of them would appreciate the efforts of benefactors. I just chose SFF because of my close ties to the Corps. Semper Fi!!!

  6. Darryl Cloud permalink
    November 5, 2011 10:43 am

    1. What motivated you to run for the fund? I am a VietNam Marine and I consider it an honor to do something for my military brothers, sisters and their families.

    2. How did you get started fundraising? I didn’t start running until I was in my mid-50s; when I realized how lucky I was to do this, I decided to use it to give to others.

    3. How did you balance training with fundraising? Training is first; when people see how dedicated I am, they are delighted to support with donations.

    4. What was your favorite thing about the experience? Knowing how many people supported my efforts…and thus, how many veterans and their families will benefit.

    5. Would you recommend ”Running For The Fund” to others? I have participated in other fundraising organizations and the Semper Fi Fund is the greatest with respect to support, pride, and dedicatoin to mission!

    Semper Fi

  7. November 6, 2011 8:45 pm

    I chose to run for the fund because I married a Marine and have many many friends serving our country. My husband and I are incredibly fortunate that he was never seriously injured during his enlistment. I’ve watched what families go through when a loved one is injured or killed and I’m thankful that there is help out there.

    I started fundraising through word of mouth. Facebook, email, signs in my cubicle. All of my fundraising this year was done this way, but I hope to double my amount next year so I’ll need to look into new ways to raise funds.

    Fundraising didn’t interfere with my training as I did it through word of mouth.

    My favorite part of the race was turning the corner to run up to Iwo Jima. I actually started crying.

    I will absolutely recommend running for the fund to others. Hopefully I can recruit more for next year!

Leave a Reply

